The tower was originally called the New Tower, the name Powder Tower dates back to the 18th century when the building was used as a gunpowder store.
Mathias Rejsek who built the tower, based his design on one of the towers that sits on one end of the Charles Bridge that was constructed during the previous century.
Many of the tower’s original sculptures were destroyed when the Prussian’s occupied the city in 1757. The statues and coats of arms on display today originate from a major restoration that was carried out by architect Josef Mocker between 1875 and 1886.
On the Celetna Street side of the tower, stands statues of George of Podìbrady and Vladislav II, both of whom were kings of Bohemia.
The other side of the tower, in the direction of Namisti Republiky, their can be found statues of the great Czech monarchs, Charles IV and Premysl Otakar II.
In 1592 a spiral stairway was added and it is still in use today to enable tourists to climb the tower and take in some magnificent views over the city. There is also a covered bridge that connects the Powder Tower to the Municipal House that ajoins it.
Powder Tower is a 65 metre high tower located on the edge of Prague’s Old Town. This 14th century tower was built for king Vladislav II to mark the start of a processional route to St Vitus Cathedral where the countries Bohemian monarchs were crowned, but the project was abandoned when in 1488 the Royal Court moved from the Old Town Square to Prague Castle.